Skip to content

The Solar System

SpaceBook Chapter 2 Solar System

Our Solar System consists of the Sun, four rocky planets, four gas giant planets, five dwarf planets, many moons, asteroids, comets and much more. Humans have sent spacecraft to orbit or land on many of these planets and moons, and have even set foot on Earth's moon. Studying our Solar System not only helps scientists learn about our surroundings, but also about how other planetary systems may form.

Image credit: Alice Hopkinson, LCO